http://www.ulb.ac.be/esp/wicc/usage-en.html

How does it work?


Marc Jamoulle & Michel Roland,July 1997

To load this document

Content
(click here
and you return from text to content).

How to use the table? The ICPC tabular list
Alphanumerical codes
The three dimensions of coding Clinical example

  1. How to use the table?

Clicking on the corresponding yellow button brings you to the heading list of the chapter and component chosen. The grey button with a small padlock means that the heading cannot (yet) be accessed. The box at the intersection of D (for digestive) and 1 (for symptoms and complaints) gives the list of the headings of that component in that chapter. The spark in a box indicates that examples from the CISP-2 are available. Clicking on the doctor's bag opens the list of standard procedures for each chapter. Clicking on the red balls brings you to the document you are reading just now.

The underlined terms in this text are linked with a lexicon that gives the definitions developed by the Classification Committee.

The general orientation bar present on nearly all pages successively comprises - from the left to the right - links to contact the members of the CISP-Club or the Classification Committee by e-mail, a document dealing with WONCA copyrights, the present directions for use, the general bibliography (written and electronic), a detailed text on the 25 years of realizations of the Classification Committee, a chessboard that opens the CISP, an introduction to CISP-2 and, at last, the door that enables you to reach the CISP-Club site.

WCC
& CISP-Club
mailing list
WONCA
copyright

How does
it work?

Books and
publications

WICC
story

ICPC
main table


ICPC-2
introduction

Return to
CISP-Club

  • The ICPC tabular list

  • The ICPC tabular list was designed as a grid, similar to a game of chess. The table, of very simple appearance is the fruit of a long developmental work based on the consultation structure, that is well underscored in the ICPC Structure table and in the document that describes the achievements of the WONCA Classification Committee. In the present representation, the chapters fill in the columns whereas the components fill in the rows. Thus, there are 15 body or somatic systems, one psychological chapter and one social chapter. The ICPC thus looks like a chessboard, with 2 axes, numbered rows (the components) and columns (the chapters), that make boxes. A01 (generalized pain), Y99 (other diseases of the male genital tract) and Z28 (limited function/invalidity social problem) are thus global codes resulting from the combination of a chapter and a component.

    The simplicity and the ease of use of the CISP are precisely due to its biaxial structure with a mnemotechnical aim: the axis of the 17 chapters is characterized by a one-character alphanumerical code, whereas the axis of the 7 components, identical for each chapter, is represented by a two-figure numerical code. Both combine to form a three-character global code (e.g. D06: localized abdominal pain).


  • . Alphanumerical codes are organized
    in a structured manner

    1

    Numerical characters are arranged
    according to the components 1, 2 to 6, and 7
    1
    symptoms and complaints
    -01 à -29:
    -26 fear of cancer,
    -27 fear of other disease,
    -28 handicap/invalidity,
    -29 rag-bag,
    2 à 6
    procedures
    -30 à -49: diagnostic/preventive
    -50 à -59: therapeutic/medication
    -60 et -61: tests results
    -62: administrative
    -63 à -69: reference and others
    Rag-bag:
    -49
    -59
    -68
    -69
    7
    diagnoses and diseases
    -70 à -99
    in order:
    infectious diseases
    tumors (benign and malignant)
    trauma
    congenital anomalies
    other specific diseases
    -99 rag-bag
  • The diseases with a prevalence too low to justify a specific code can be placed under the so-called rag-bag codes. This by no means implies that those diseases disappear from the medical record of the patient. Incorporated in a terminological data bank such as Encode-FM or ICPC-Plus, they may appear in the patient's medical record but, for the epidemiological analysis, they are ranked with other uncommon diseases.

    The separation in three component groups:

    1 for symptoms and complaints,
    2 to 6 for procedures,
    7 for diagnoses,
    corresponds to the general structure of a consultation and to the design of the structure of the ICPC. The problem, such as it is verbalized by the patient, forms or will form the subject of actions before or after a working hypothesis has been worded. The diagnosis made for a specific problem at the end of the consultation will become the title of the on-going episode of care.

    The episode may possibly exist only for one single contact, but may be maintained active and may serve as a basis for multiple contacts spread over a period of time.

    The complexity arises from the fact that consultations in general practice usually deal with 1.5 problems per contact and that each of those problems may give rise to an episode that will occur concomitantly with others and will have an unpredictable duration. Moreover, some problems are presented by the patients on a symbolic basis, consciously or not, and mask complex realities. At last, other problems will arise due to physicians, either voluntarily or not.

    The acquisition of sensitive information on the occasion of a help relationship cannot alter the course of the relationship, and the data acquisition system must be effective and integrated in the consultation. The difficulty still increases due to the fact that, in health systems that function without registration, patients may be mobile and may consult several physicians or may be merely lost to follow-up.


  • The three dimensions of coding

    1. Information filing

      The CISP is intended to note down the reasons of contacts, diagnoses and procedures the prevalence of which is in excess of 0.5 per thousand (with some exceptions to the rule). The aim is to contain only necessary but sufficient items: "a place for everything" (exhaustiveness) "and everything in its place" (exclusiveness). Any element that comes under the SOAP must find one and single place there. This explains the existence of so-called "rag-bag" codes that gather what cannot reasonably be filed elsewhere, or the acronyms "NEC" (not elsewhere classified) or "NOS" (not otherwise specified), as well as the relative imprecision of some items (e.g. traumatic urinary tract lesion).

    2. Information processing

      Information gathered by providers may be stored on paper or in the computer. Coding may be done by the provider (decentralized coding) or by a coding centre (centralized coding). The evolution of medical computing has enabled providers to perform computer encoding in countries with such facilities.

      The computer system must be a flexible and high-performance system so that information automatically chained according to the caregiver's instructions may be processed in real time. It is absolutely not easy to set up such a system on a computer. The number of pieces of information is initially variable (from 1 to X reasons of contact; mean: 1.5). The number of on-going episodes also is variable. The status of such episodes must be known (active, inactive, open, closed). Their diagnostic, prognostic and therapeutic value must be considered (significant, non-significant), and their severity must be estimated. Moreover, the various problems show reciprocal interactions, and several episodes may be controlled by a single one. A given episode may be given another name (changed diagnosis). The clinical aims to be reached to realize a consistent medical record, either computerized or not, are examined in the document Fonctions du Dossier médical" (in French only).

      Such an approach is only applicable to the first level of care. The issue of data transmission between the first line system (primary care) and the specialized hospital system (secondary care) can be solved only by using compatible classifications such as the CISP and the CIM-10. It is thus obvious that the issue of crossmapping is a determining factor.

    3. The system transparency

      The profession of family physician is already complex enough without computing making the meeting between the patient and the physician still heavier. Therefore, the system must be sufficiently user-friendly so that the provider, or even the patient, find pleasure to use it. This is the place where terminology and natural language systems that - classified in the ICPC - afford a great user-friendliness in information acquisition, play a role. The significance of current terminology works (see document "History of the Classification Committee", last paragraph) is thus obvious.

    4. Clinical example

    5. A patient calls for a worrying febrile state, otherwise without clear signs. The physician examines the patient, confirms the high temperature, and decides to see the patient again the next day.
      The appreciation is "fever" (A03), since no more specific diagnosis can be made despite a full examination. The clinical examination carried out is a procedure, and the decision to see the patient again is another procedure.

      The information sequence that describes the process implemented is:

      The coding sequence (for the computer) will be:

      A03 - A30 - A31 - A03 - A63

      The A03 chosen as appreciation will become the title of the current episode. If, the next day, pimples have appeared and the diagnosis is obvious, A78, measles, will become the title of the episode, following an examination and the prescription of antibiotics. The coding sequence (for the computer) will be:
      A63 - A31 - A71 - A50

      If the physician is called again by the mother because the child experiences ear pain, and if otitis is diagnosed, the coding sequence (for the computer) will be:
      HO2 - H21 - H70 - H50

      It is thus possible to follow the evolution of the title of the episode from A03 to A71, then to H70.

      Such simple problems may become more and more complicated. The following list of ingredients, for instance, makes it possible to render the problem, its assessment, its treatment and the computer encoding more complex:

      no money for purchasing drugs, complications when using drugs, treatment dropout, disease complications, institutionalized child, child as an object, sour-tempered stepfather or stepmother, anxious mother, anxious physician, insalubrious and allergenic housing, severe comorbidity (other severe concomitant diseases), problems of attestation, truancy, illicit drugs,...
      Back to
      CISP-Club site

      Back to
      WICC site

      WICC
      Back to
      MF & SP site

      Back to
      ICPC main table

      How to get
      ICPC

      For further information about the CISP and the CISP-Club, please contact:

      .M. Jamoulle
      Rue Frère Orban
      B-6040 Jumet( Charleroi)
      J. Humbert
      9, rue du 8 Mai
      F-85230 Beauvoir sur mer
      tél.+32 71 37 14 12 (home)
      +32 71 28 55 77 (office)
      +33 2 51 49 45 51 (home)
      +33 2 51 68 70 23 (office)
      fax+32 71 28 55 70+33 2 51 68 76 05
      Email marc.jamoulle@ulb.ac.be jhumbert@imaginet.fr
      http://www.ulb.ac.be/esp/cisp

       
      Use this form to send your feedback and/or submit a link
      (please, replace sample texts by appropriate data before submitting!)
      From
      your e_mail :
      your URL :
      To marc.jamoulle@ulb.ac.be ; meurrens@ulb.ac.be ;
      Subject
      Link
      Comment


      The present document is also available here as a "Word 7.0 for Windows 95" file.


      http://www.ulb.ac.be/esp/wicc/usage-en.html

Comment ça marche ?


Marc Jamoulle & Michel Roland,Juillet 1997


Contenu
(Pointez et cliquez la
et vous reviendrez au contenu à partir du texte).

Mode d'emploi du tableau La nomenclature CISP
Les codes alphanumériques
Trois dimensions du codage Exemple clinique

  1. Mode d'emploi du tableau

En pointant et en cliquant sur le bouton jaune correspondant on se retrouvera sur la liste des intitulés du chapitre et composant choisis. Le bouton gris avec un petit cadena signifie que cette rubrique n'est pas (encore) accessible. La case de croisement de D (pour digestif) et 1 (pour symptômes et plaintes) fournit la liste des intitulés des rubriques de ce composant pour ce chapitre. En cliquant sur la mallette du docteur on obtient la liste des procédures standards pour chaque chapitre. En cliquant sur les boules rouges on accede au document que vous lisez pour le moment.

Les termes soulignés dans ce texte sont en lien avec un lexique qui vous fournit les définitions élaborées par le comité de Classification.

La barre générale d'orientation qui se retrouve quasi à chaque pages comprends successivement de gauche à droite des liens pour contacter les membres du CISP-Club ou du Comité de Clasification par courriel, un document à propos des droits d'auteur de la WONCA, le mode d'emploi que vous lisez pour le moment, la bibliographie générale (écrite et électronique), un texte détaillé sur les 25 ans de réalisations du Comité de Classification, une grille de jeu d'échec qui vous ouvre la CISP, un texte d'introduction à la CISP-2 et enfin la porte qui vous permet de rejoindre le site du CISP-Club.


Courriels
CISP-Club
& CCW
Droits d'auteur
de la Wonca

Comment ça
marche?

Livres et
publications

Réalisations
du CCW

Tableau de
la CISP


CISP-2
introduction

Retour au
CISP-Club


  • La nomenclature CISP

  • Le tableau de la nomenclature de la CISP est conçu comme une grille, analogue à un jeu d'échec. Ce tableau d'apparence très simple est le fruit d'un long travail d'élaboration basé sur la structure de la consultation bien mis en évidence dans le tableau Structure de la CISP et dans le document décrivant les réalisations du CCW. Dans la représentation réalisée ici, les chapitres occupent les rangées et les composant occupent les colonnes. Il y a donc 15 systèmes corporels encore appelé somatiques, un chapitre psychologique et un chapitre social. La CISP est donc comme un échiquier, avec 2 axes, des rangées (les composant s) et des colonnes (les chapitre s) numérotées, définissant des cases. A01 (douleur généralisée), Y99 (autres maladies système génital masculin) et Z28 (fonction limitée/invalidité problème social) sont donc des codes globaux construits par la combinaison d'un chapitre et d'un composant .

    La simplicité et la facilité d'emploi de la CISP sont justement dues à sa structure bi-axiale, à visée mnémotechnique: l'axe des 17 chapitres est caractérisé par un code alphanumérique à 1 caractère, celui des 7 composants, identiques pour chaque chapitre , par un code numérique à 2 caractères. Les deux se combinent pour constituer un code global à 3 caractères.( ex D06 : douleur abdominale localisée).


  • Les codes alphanumériques sont ordonnés
    de façon structurée

    Disposition des caractères numériques selon
    les composants 1, 2 à 6, et 7
    1
    symptômes et plaintes
    -01 à -29:
    -26 peur du cancer,
    -27 peur d'une autre maladie,
    -28 handicap/invalidité,
    -29 fourre-tout,
    2 à 6
    procédures
    -30 à -49: diagnostiques/préventives
    -50 à -59: thérapeutiques/médications
    -60 et -61: résultats de tests
    -62: administratives
    -63 à -69: référence et autres
    Fourre tout :
    -49
    -59
    -68
    -69
    7
    diagnostics et maladies
    -70 à -99
    dans l'ordre ;
    maladies infectieuse
    tumeurs (bénignes et malignes)
    traumatismes
    anomalies congénitales
    autres maladies spécifiques
    -99 fourre-tout
  • Les codes fourre-tout permettent le rangement d'affections à prévalence trop basse que pour pouvoir justifier d'un code particulier. Ceci ne signifie nullement que ces affections disparaissent du dossier médical du patient. Reprises dans une banque de données terminologiques telle le LOCAS elles peuvent figurer au dossier du patient mais, pour l'analyse épidémiologique, elles sont classées avec d'autres affections de prévalence rare.

    La séparation en trois groupes de composants ;

    1 pour les symptômes et plaintes,
    2 à 6 pour les procédures,
    7 pour les diagnostics,
    correspond à la structure générale d'une consultation et à la conception de la structure de l'ICPC. Le problème tel qu'il est verbalisé par le patient fait ou ferra l'objet d'actions avant ou après l'émission d'une hypothèse de travail. Le diagnostic posé à l'issue de la consultation pour un problème particulier deviendra le titre de l' épisode de soins en cours.

    Cet épisode peut n'exister que pour un seul contact mais peut être maintenu actif et peut servir de base à de multiples contacts étalés dans le temps.

    La complexité vient du fait que les consultations de médecine générale abordent en général 1,5 problèmes par contact et que chacun de ses problèmes peut faire naître un épisode qui sera concomitant aux autres et de durée de vie imprévisible. De plus certains problèmes présentés par les patients le sont à titre symbolique, conscients ou non, et cachent des réalités complexes. Enfin d'autres problèmes vont prendre naissance à l'initiative des médecins, volontairement ou non.

    L'acquisition d'informations sensibles au décours d'une relation d'aide ne peut pas perturber l'évolution de cette relation et le système d'acquisition des données doit donc être performant et intégré à la consultation. La difficulté s'accroît encore par le fait que, dans les systèmes de santé fonctionnant sans inscription, les patients peuvent être mobiles et consulter plusieurs praticiens ou simplement être perdus de vue.


  • Trois dimensions du codage

    1. Le Classement des informations

      La CISP est faite pour relever les motifs de contact, diagnostics et procédures dont la prévalence dépasse 0,5 pour mille (avec quelques exceptions à cette règle). L'objectif est de ne contenir que des items nécessaires et suffisants : une « place pour chaque chose » (exhaustivité) et « chaque chose à sa place » (exclusivité). Tout élément relevant du SOAP doit y trouver une et une seule place. C'est ce qui explique l'existence de codes « fourre-tout » rassemblant ce qui ne peut être raisonnablement classé ailleurs, ou les sigles « NCA » (non classé ailleurs) ou « NP » (non précisé), ainsi que l'imprécision relative de certains items (« lésions traumatiques du système urinaire »).

    2. Le traitement de l'information

      L'information recueillie par les dispensateurs de soins peut l'être sur support papier ou informatique. Le codage peut être réalisé par le dispensateur (on parle de codage décentralisé) ou par un centre de codage (codage centralisé). L'évolution de l'informatique médicale permet le codage informatique par le dispensateur dans les pays équipés de telles facilités.

      Le système informatique doit être souple et performant de façon à pouvoir traiter en temps réel des informations chaînées automatiquement selon les indications princeps du prestataire. Il n'est pas du tout aisé d'installer informatiquement un tel système. Le nombre d'information est variable au départ (de 1 à X motifs de contact, en moyenne 1,5). Le nombre d'épisodes en cours est aussi variable. Le statuts de ces épisodes doit être connu (actifs, inactifs, ouverts, fermés). Leur valeur diagnostique, pronostique et thérapeutique doit être considérée (significatif, non significatif), leur gravité estimée. De plus les problèmes ont des interactions entre eux, plusieurs épisodes peuvent être chapeautés par un seul. Un épisode peut être renommé différemment (changement de diagnostic). Les objectifs cliniques à atteindre pour réaliser un dossier médical cohérent, informatisé ou non, sont examinés dans le document Fonctions du Dossier Médical.

      Ce type d'approche ne vaut que pour le premier niveau de soins. La question de la transmission des données entre le système de premier recours (soins primaires) et le système hospitalier spécialisé (soins secondaires) ne peut être réglée que par l'emploi de classifications compatibles comme le sont la CISP et la CIM-10. On voit donc que la question du transcodage est déterminante.

    3. La transparence du système

      Le métier de médecin de famille est déjà suffisamment complexe pour que l'informatique ne vienne pas alourdir encore la rencontre médecin patient. Il faut donc que le système soit suffisamment convivial pour que le dispensateur, voire le patient, ait plaisir à l'utiliser. C'est ici qu'intervient la terminologie et les systèmes de langage naturel qui, classifiés sur la CISP (voir le document Approches taxinomiques en médecine de famille) permettront une grande convivialité dans l'acquisition de l'information. On comprend donc l'importance des travaux actuels de terminologie (voir le document Histoire du Comité de Classification, dernier paragraphe)

    4. Exemple clinique

    5. Un patient appelle pour un état fébrile préoccupant, mais par ailleurs sans point d'appel. Le médecin l'examine et confirme sa haute température et le reverra le lendemain.
      L' appréciation est fièvre (A03), aucun diagnostic plus spécifique ne pouvant être posé malgré un examen complet. L'examen clinique réalisé est une procédure et la décision de revenir en est une autre.

      La séquence d'information décrivant la démarche mise en oeuvre sera donc :

      La séquence de codage (à usage informatique) sera :

      A03 - A30 - A31 - A03 - A63

      Le A03 choisit comme appréciation deviendra le titre de l'épisode actuel. Si le lendemain les boutons sont sortis et le diagnostic évident, A78, Rougeole deviendra le titre de l'épisode, après un examen et une prescription d'antipyrétique. La séquence de codage (à usage informatique) sera :
      A63 - A31 - A71 - A50

      Si le médecin est rappelé par la maman parce que le petit a mal à l'oreille et qu'un diagnostic d'otite est posé : La séquence de codage (à usage informatique) sera :
      HO2 - H21 - H70 - H50

      On peut suivre la transformation du titre de l' épisode de AO3 en A71 puis en H70.

      Ce genre de problème simple peut devenir complexe à l'envi. On peut choisir dans la liste des ingrédients suivants de quoi complexifier le problème, son évaluation, son traitement et sa notation informatique :

      pas d'argent pour les médicaments, complications d'usage des médicaments, abandon du traitement, complications de la maladie, enfant placé, enfant objet, beau-père ou belle-mère acariâtre, mère angoissée, médecin anxieux, habitat insalubre et allergisant, comorbidité sévère (soit autres maladies graves en cours), problème de certificat, d'absentéisme scolaire, de drogue........,
      Si vous êtes arrivés jusqu'ici, c'est que vous êtes mordus et que vous ne manquez pas d'énergie. Dites moi donc ce qui vous pousse en me mettant un message ci-dessous. Merci.

      Pour retourner
      au site
      du CISP-Club.

      Pour retourner
      à la grille
      de base


      Pour obtenir
      la nomenclature
      de la CISP




      Pour en savoir plus sur la CISP et le CISP-club, contactez :

      .M. Jamoulle
      Rue Frère Orban
      B-6040 Jumet( Charleroi)
      J. Humbert
      9, rue du 8 Mai
      F-85230 Beauvoir sur mer
      tél.+32 71 37 14 12 (dom.)
      +32 71 28 55 77 (bur.)
      +33 2 51 49 45 51 (dom.)
      +33 2 51 68 70 23 (bur.)
      fax+32 71 28 55 70+33 2 51 68 76 05
      courriel marc.jamoulle@ulb.ac.be jhumbert@imaginet.fr
      http://www.ulb.ac.be/esp/cisp

       
      Utilisez ce formulaire pour envoyer vos commentaires ou soumettre un lien
      Use this form to send your feedback and/or submit a link

      (svp, replacez le texte proposé par vos coordonnées avant d'envoyer)
      (please, replace sample texts by appropriate data before submitting!)
      From
      your e_mail :
      your URL :
      To marc.jamoulle@ulb.ac.be ; meurrens@ulb.ac.be ;
      Subject
      Link
      Comment


      Ce document est également disponible ici en format "Word 7.0 for Windows 95"
      Sous Netscape et Windows 95, pour télecharger, sélectionner le lien avec le bouton droit de votre souris et utilisez l'option "Save As..." ou "Sauvegarder sous..."
      Sous d'autres systèmes, consultez les modes d'emploi.


      http://www.ulb.ac.be/esp/cisp/usage.html